What are The Fruits of Holy Spirit and their meanings in bible?

fruits of the holy spirit

The Fruits of Holy Spirit in bible

The Fruits of Holy Spirit is a biblical term that sums up nine attributes of a person or community living in accord with the Holy Spirit, according to chapter 5 of the Epistle to the Galatians: “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.” The fruit is contrasted with the works of the flesh which immediately precede it in this chapter.

The Catholic Church follows the Latin Vulgate version of Galatians in recognizing twelve fruits: charity (Caritas), joy (Gaudium), peace (pax), patience (patient), benignity (benignitas), goodness (bonitas), longanimity (longanimity), mildness (mansuetudo), faith (fides), modesty (modestia), continency (continentia), and chastity (castitas). This tradition was defended by Thomas Aquinas in his work Summa Theologica, and reinforced in numerous Catholic catechisms, including the Baltimore Catechism, the Penny Catechism, and the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

fruits of the holy spirit

Fruits Of The Holy Spirit in bible:

Those who are in Christ are distinguished from unbelievers in that they have been gifted with the Holy Spirit, enabling them to bear fruit. In other words, their works demonstrate the change of sanctification that is at work in their hearts. What are these fruits, and how does the Bible define them:


Agape love is the highest form of love for both God and neighbor. It is selfless, focused on the other person, given freely and gladly without condition or the expectation of repayment, expressed in service, and willing to suffer on another’s behalf.


Joy is interior contentment that comes from being close to God and in the right relationship with others. Joy also comes with speaking and upholding the truth, honesty, and integrity in relationships, enduring hardships, and decent conduct.


Peace is the harmony that occurs when justice prevails. It happens when resources are shared equitably, power is used for service, interdependence is fostered, information is shared openly and honestly, the dignity of each person is respected, legitimate differences are tolerated, the disadvantaged receive help hurts are forgiven and the common good is upheld.


Patience is the virtue of suffering interruption or delay with composure and without complaint; suffering annoyance, insult, or mistreatment with self-restraint, refusing to be provoked; and suffering burdens and complex tasks with resolve and determination. It is also the willingness to slow down for another’s benefit, to set aside one’s personal plans and concerns, to go at another’s pace, and to take whatever time is necessary to address their need.


Kindness is a warm and friendly disposition toward another. A kind person is polite and well-mannered, respectful and considerate, pleasant and agreeable, cheerful and upbeat, caring and helpful, positive and complimentary.


Generosity is a bigheartedness grounded in an abundance mentality. It is unselfish and expresses itself in sharing. It is extended to family and friends, strangers, and particularly those in need, and is offered not only as money, food, and clothing but also as time shared and assistance provided.


Faithfulness is demonstrated by loyalty to friends, duties performed, promises kept, commitments fulfilled, contracts completed, observed vows, and true to one’s word.


Gentleness is sensitivity to another person. It is concerned with another’s welfare, safety, and security. It is grounded in humility. The approach is careful, tender, considerate, affectionate, and mild-mannered, free of all pushiness, roughness, or abrasiveness.


Self-control is self-mastery regardless of the circumstances, to be in control of one’s self rather than to be controlled by temptations, events, or other people, especially when under pressure or in times of crisis. It is to remain calm, cool and collected, reasonable and even-tempered; to be alert and conscious, to proceed with caution and prudence, and to avoid an impulse or kneejerk response; to be a moderating influence, and to have the strength and courage to reject evil and choose well.

The Fruits of the Holy Spirit in the Bible:

Saint Paul, in the Letter to the Galatians (5:22), lists the fruits of the Holy Spirit. There are two different versions of the text. A shorter version, commonly used in both Catholic and Protestant Bibles today, lists nine fruits of the Holy Spirit; the longer version, which Saint Jerome used in his Latin translation of the Bible known as the Vulgate, includes three more. The Vulgate is the official text of the Bible that the Catholic Church uses; for that reason, the Catholic Church has always referred to the 12 fruits of the Holy Spirit.

Fruits Of Holy Spirit Verse in Bible:

in Galatians 5:22-23 in New International Version:

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.


World Religions

Sources: 1, 2, 3

Read also:

Unity Church | Beliefs And History And Practices &More What is the Unity Church

Rosicrucianism | Meaning, History, Symbols, Books And More

Great White Brotherhood | History, The Masters and More

Scriptures On Faith And Encouraging Scriptures for Difficult Times

Hope Grace and Faith In Christianity | Book Review

Was this article helpful?
Mercy Cuthbert
Mom, Wife, Author, Bachelor of Arts Comparative Religion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top